top of page

This DVD is a High Quality BACKUP of the studio release on DVD-R. This title is very rare, out of print and has NO FUTURE RELEASE DATE pending.


The Box of Delights was adapted for television by the BBC in 1984, featuring Patrick Troughton and Robert Stephens. Based on the classic children's novel by John Masefield, the story follows the exploits of a young boy, Kay Harker, who finds himself drawn into a world of magic and danger when he encounters an old Punch and Judy man. It was broadcast November–December, in six parts, with the last episode transmitted on Christmas Eve. Starring Devin Stanfield as Kay and directed by Renny Rye, it used an innovative mixture of live action and animation, with Quantel Paintbox and chroma key effects to bring the adventure alive. Noted for its yuletide atmosphere (it is set during Christmas), the series has become something of a nostalgic treat for followers of cult TV. The seasonal theme music is Victor Hely-Hutchinson's orchestral arrangement of "The First Noël" from his Carol Symphony. The episodes are:

1. "When the Wolves Were Running"

2. "Where Shall the 'Nighted Showman Go?"

3. "In the Darkest Cellars Underneath"

4. "The Spider in the Web"

5. "Beware of Yesterday"

6. "Leave Us Not Little, Nor Yet Dark"

This is a 2 Disc Set Region 1 USA NTSC

The Box Of Delights DVD

    bottom of page